Skip to content

Story Approach

November 28, 2009

The way you deliver a message to [people] is a cue to how they should react. If you make an argument, you’re implicitly asking them to evaluate your argument – judge it, debate it, criticize it – and then argue back, at least in their minds. But with a story… you engage your audience – you are involving people with the ideas, asking them to participate with you.

Made to Stick, p 234

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 29, 2009 9:03 am

    I’ve heard that statement several times and I love it each time. As an argumentative type, I can verify that when I hear someone constructing an argument in a speech (or in a book) I’m trying to take it apart every step of the way. Stories, however, grab me and pull me in.

Leave a Reply

